West Harrison (IN)

West Harrison (IN)

  • On the outskirts of West Harrison, Indiana is a small private museum built by Bill Viel. Some very interesting things from a man who spent his life in the area.

  • At least 6 bridges have spanned this section of the Whitewater River including a covered bridge that was burnt to the ground in 1863 by John Hunt Morgan.

  • West Harrison, Indiana has been home to many businesses over the years including distilleries, feed mills, furniture factories and more!

  • West Harrison has a long and rich history even though it has less than 300 people.

  • Built in the early 1800s this feed mill is now a hardware store that has operated since the mid 1950s.

  • This feed mill was originally established in 1898 as a distillery company until 1918 when Prohibition came about and then turned into a feed mill.

  • Built in 1925 the West Harrison Elementary School was originally a two room school.

  • Built about 1830 this building was used by the Cincinnati Seating Company to produce furniture for churches, schools and opera houses.

  • Built in 1833 as a First Christian Church, construction costs totaled $600.00.

  • The Whitwater Canal began as an idea in 1823 and parts of the canal can still be found to this day.